Visual Overload

(Originally Published 17/3/2013

DISCLAIMER: When I wrote my original New York blog it was for my friends and family and my photo skills were horrible. They still are, but the difference is that now I just don’t include them.)

 

So, my threat of adding loads of pictures to my last post was hampered by the free wifi wherever I was at the time being unable to cope. So guess what? This post is going to take ages to load up and probably not be that interesting. But I think I can live with myself.

This is the man who nicely made us guacamole:

How fast do you think he got sick of me?

How fast do you think he got sick of me?

This is the end result of the guacamole-making:

How I am not yet a food photographer is beyond me.

How I am not yet a food photographer is beyond me.

This is a fairly average portion of Mexican food. Mexican food being just about the only thing we’ve eaten since we got here. There is a prize for spotting a decent portion of veggies in there. The teeny salad doesn’t count. There is a prize because I know I won’t have to put my money where my (scurvy-ridden) mouth is:

Seriously. Food Photography SKILLZ.

Seriously. Food Photography SKILLZ.

Just something I casually saw on the walk home from the Mexican. Because it was a block away from the hotel:

And it never got old.

And it never got old.

What I see on my train journey to the-company-that-must-not-be-named:

Leaving Manhattan

Looking back to NY

Some trees
The Sound

Grand Central. I get the train from here every day. That makes me super cool:

Grand Central Station

A midnight escapade to Times Square:

Only bearable between 00:00 and 06:00.

Only bearable between 00:00 and 06:00.

'Murca.

‘Murca.

Americans do not have my name, so I’m half tempted to document the interesting spellings:

We laughed then. I'm totally deedpolling that now.

We laughed then. I’m totally deedpolling that now.

Yesterday (Saturday) we went to the St. Patty’s day parade. These very cold people were waiting to begin:

13

While they do have bagpipe players in Ireland, these ones were very definitely playing the Highland fling:

Bagpipes
I know I’m old because it had started to snow at this point, and I was quite worried about these girls because they were clearly going to get cold kidneys:

Patty's Day

This was my brief moment of being in the parade, because it was snowing and we were cold, and we were crossing to find a diner:

Nicola Masters: Parade Star. Obvs.

Nicola Masters: Parade Star. Obvs.

Everyone was wearing insane outfits. This dog was spiffy and I love him.

Still better dressed than me.

Still better dressed than me.

My giant inner 30 Rock nerd was very excited to see this. And by ‘giant’ and ‘inner’, I mean ‘giant’ and ‘way too loud and willing to tell everybody’:

Wahey!

Wahey!

This is a picture. I dunno. I was in ‘tourist’ mode:

Buildings, yo.

Buildings, yo.

Ellen’s Stardust Diner was amazing. It’s staffed by aspiring Broadway stars who stand on the tables and sing. I got a little bit serenaded by our waiter, who sang part of ‘Ain’t no mountain high enough’ into my burger-filled face, and as embarrassed as I was, he was easily the best white guy ever to sing a Marvin Gaye song:

Shortly after this I got serenaded and it was horrible.

Shortly after this I got serenaded and it was horrible.

For reals. Bloody skills.

For reals. Bloody skills.

Everyone is going to hate ‘tourist mode’ Nicola. ‘Tourist mode’ Nicola doesn’t worry about such things:

Grand Central and The Chrysler Building

They even dressed the Empire State building up for St. Patty’s day:

I soon realised dressing the Empire State Building up was not unusual, so that's all good.

I soon realised dressing the Empire State Building up was not unusual, so that’s all good.

I moved into my apartment today, but that’s a whole other post because we’re waiting for dinner to arrive, and right now that feels much more important. I apologise for the amount of boring pictures but, well, I really secretly don’t.

What do you think?

